Scientific research at school

Complex ecosystems are the main focus of research at the Ecole Centrale of Casablanca.

The notion of ecosystem comes from biology, but has recently been extended to any network or system of interconnected and dynamically interacting elements, and is thus used in sociology, economics and business science, etc.

Due to the interactions between their constituents, these ecosystems are most of the time seen as complex, in the sense of complexity theory: that is, even if one perfectly knows their elementary components and even their interactions, it is not possible, even in theory, to predict their behavior before experimentation or simulation.

Question of Complex Ecosystems Modeling

Developing a systemic approach
This is an ad hoc approach to complex systems, which provides for focusing more on exchanges between the parts of the system than analyzing each of them at a time, and reasoning in terms of the system’s objective. This approach, which is interdisciplinary by nature, is widely used in sociology, work organization, town planning, etc.

Five Ecosystems Studied in Centrale Casablanca

Ecole Centrale Casablanca has chosen five types of ecosystems, based on their scientific importance and the challenges they represent in the Moroccan and African contexts.

Recherche scientifiqueUrban ecosystems
The city can be considered an exoskeleton of a population that lives, produces, consumes, constructs, changes and exchanges material and immaterial goods. It should thus be considered a living and dynamic system with of all kinds unceasing flows that nourish its development or constitute its derivative products. The modeling of these flows is of paramount importance for planning, designing and managing the city, and having adequate control over its development. This research perspective is especially significant in the Moroccan context, where a very ambitious plan for the construction of new towns is underway.

Recherche scientifique

Energy ecosystems
The development of renewable energies (solar energy and wind energy) is very important for Morocco. These energies are marked by their intermittence, which makes their connection to the electricity network and the management of this network more complex, in addition to the technological possibility of storing electricity and the widespread development of “smarts grids”. Therefore, modeling becomes a key tool to ensure the smooth functioning of the network, the sustainability of the system and the identification of the most promising solutions.

Industrial ecosystems
The transformation of enterprises affects the development of the economy in emerging countries. A systemic vision has thus asserted itself bringing about a new way of seeing the systems of production, supply and distribution of goods or services. Many company departments can be considered as ecosystems: this is the case for the logistics chain, but also for most industrial processes, because of the interactions between the different operation phases. Even the management of companies can fall under this approach.

Transactional ecosystems, especially banking
Banks and their related activities are developing very rapidly in Africa. Many ecosystems can be identified in this sector. Electronic payment (e-payment) is very dynamic in Morocco, as there are two internationally active operators. The modeling of the payment chain, an ecosystem involving different stakeholder (customers, traders, banks, operators), combined with statistical processing of operations, would make this latter flow better and make it easier to cope with fraud, which is the main problem.

Social Entrepreneurship
Research at the Central School of Casablanca is particularly focused on Moroccan industrial or service companies. The School is mainly seeking to create chairs in association with companies on subjects that lend themselves to long-term collaborative programs, such as modeling eco-cities or energy networks.

Recherche scientifique à l’École

Les écosystèmes complexes sont l’axe principal de la Recherche à l’École Centrale Casablanca.
La notion d’écosystème vient de la biologie, mais a récemment été étendue à tout réseau ou système d’éléments interconnectés et interagissant de façon dynamique, et se rencontre donc en sociologie, en économie et en science de l’entreprise, etc.

Du fait des interactions entre constituants, ces écosystèmes sont la plus part du temps dits complexes, au sens de la théorie de la complexité : c’est à dire que même si l’on connaît parfaitement leurs composants élémentaires, voire leurs interactions, il n’est pas possible, même en théorie, de prévoir leur comportement autrement que par l’expérience ou la simulation.

La question de la modélisation des écosystèmes complexes

Développer une approche systémique
Il s’agit de l’approche ad hoc des systèmes complexes qui consiste à s’attacher davantage aux échanges entre les parties du système qu’à l’analyse de chacune d’elles et à raisonner par rapport à l’objectif du système. Cette approche, par nature interdisciplinaire, est déjà largement utilisée en sociologie, en organisation du travail, en urbanisme, etc.

Cinq écosystèmes à l’étude au sein de Centrale Casablanca

Cinq types d’écosystèmes ont été choisis par l’École Centrale Casablanca, sur la base de leur intérêt scientifique et de l’enjeu qu’ils représentent dans les contextes marocain et africain.

Recherche scientifiqueLes écosystèmes urbains
La ville peut être considérée comme un exosquelette d’une population qui vit, produit, consomme, construit, transforme et échange des biens matériels et immatériels. Il faut donc la considérer comme un système vivant et dynamique, siège d’une circulation incessante de flux de toutes sortes qui nourrissent son développement ou en sont les produits dérivés. La modélisation de ces flux est de première importance pour aider à planifier, concevoir et gérer la ville, et maîtriser un tant soit peu son développement. Cette perspective de recherche est spécialement importante dans le contexte marocain, pays où un plan très ambitieux de construction de villes nouvelles est en cours.

Recherche scientifique

Les écosystèmes énergétiques
Le développement des énergies renouvelables (énergie solaire, énergie éolienne) est très important pour le Maroc. Ces énergies présentent la caractéristique d’être intermittentes, ce qui rend complexes leur raccordement au réseau de l’électricité et la gestion de ce réseau. A cela vont venir s’ajouter d’autres facteurs comme la possibilité technologique de stocker l’électricité et le développement généralisé des « smarts grids ». La modélisation devient un outil clé pour assurer à la fois le bon fonctionnement du réseau, la pérennité du système et l’identification des solutions les plus prometteuses.

Les écosystèmes industriels
La transformation des entreprises conditionne le développement de l’économie dans les pays émergents. La vision systémique s’est imposée pour apporter une nouvelle vision des systèmes de production, d’approvisionnement et de distribution de biens ou de services. De nombreux secteurs de l’entreprise peuvent être considérés comme des écosystèmes : c’est le cas de la chaîne logistique, mais aussi de la plupart des procédés industriels, du fait des interactions entre les différentes phases des opérations. Le management des entreprises, lui-même, peut relever de cette approche.

Les écosystèmes transactionnels, notamment bancaires
La banque et les activités qui lui sont liées se développent très rapidement en Afrique. De nombreux écosystèmes peuvent être identifiés dans ce secteur. Celui du paiement électronique (monétique) est particulièrement actif au Maroc, puisque ce pays possède deux opérateurs présents à l’échelle internationale. Des modélisations de la chaîne du paiement, écosystème impliquant plusieurs acteurs (client, commerçant, banque, opérateur), conjuguées à des traitements statistiques des opérations, permettraient de fluidifier celles-ci et de s’attaquer à la fraude, qui représente le principal problème.

L’entrepreneuriat social
La recherche à l’École Centrale de Casablanca est particulièrement tournée vers les entreprises marocaines de l’industrie ou des services. L’École cherche en particulier à créer des chaires en association avec des entreprises sur les sujets se prêtant à des programmes collaboratifs sur le long terme, comme la modélisation des éco-cités ou celle des réseaux énergétiques.